Clifton Rugby Football Club History
index sitemap advanced
site search by freefind

Grant Watson


He was born in Cambridge in 1939.

Back Row (L-R): Tim Howard, Ken Plummer, Mel Wyeth, Mario Polledri, Tony Jacob, Graham Steer, John Raine, Fred Cannon. Front Row: Mark Robinson, Mike Mason, David Rodgers, Paul Smith, Grant Watson (Captain), John Cannon, George Byas, Bill Baily, Peter Martin.

Above Clifton 1st XV of 1968-69.

Standing (L-R): John Poole (Touch Judge), Andy Pesynski, Gary Rogers, Chris Jenkins, Pat Donovan, David Rogers, Steve Gregory, Alex Hay. Sitting: Keith Lowe, Mario Polledri, Grant Watson, Graham Mansfield, Simon Luxmore. On Ground: Phil Hepburn, John Cannon, Martin Hinchliffe (Ballboy), Mike Wagstaff, Ken Nelson.

Above Clifton RFC XV 1972/73. This photo was taken before the Centenary match against Blackheath.

He became Chairman and then President of the Club.

He became Chairman of Alder King and won the Lifetime Achievement Award for his contribution to the commercial property world at the South West Commercial Property Awards 2007 (see above).

He was awarded an OBE in the 2012 New Years Honours list